The chartmaker has several parts. At the top is the pattern name. This is how the chart will appear in your list of charts once you've saved it.
Beside that are: save, start over and delete buttons. (Delete will only appear after a pattern has been saved. New patterns haven't been saved yet, so they can't be deleted.) Start over redraws your chart the way it was when you last saved. If you started with a shared chart, then starting over redraws the original. If you started from a blank pattern you get a blank pattern.
Below the pattern name is your color palette. Current color is the color that will show if you start drawing. The palette is where you select and change your colors.
Click on a color and you can start drawing with it. Click "Change Colors" then click a color and you can select a new color from a color wheel. Below the palette is the chart itself.